Magic Mirror (The Georgia Lee Maxwell Series, Book 1) por Michaela Thompson

May 22, 2019

Descargue o lea el libro de Magic Mirror (The Georgia Lee Maxwell Series, Book 1) de Michaela Thompson en formato PDF y EPUB. Aquí puedes descargar cualquier libro en formato PDF o Epub gratis. Use el botón disponible en esta página para descargar o leer libros en línea.

Magic Mirror (The Georgia Lee Maxwell Series, Book 1) por Michaela Thompson

Titulo del libro: Magic Mirror (The Georgia Lee Maxwell Series, Book 1)

Autor: Michaela Thompson

Número de páginas: 226 páginas

Fecha de lanzamiento: August 13, 2013

Editor: booksBnimble

Descargar PDF Leer on-line

"Georgia Lee Maxwell ... is a delight, a bright and funny lady with a breezy narrative voice." -Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine

" … a brisk and witty book full of sharply unexpected events and packed with wonderfully robust characters." -Publisher's Weekly
SACRE BLEU! THEY KILLED A MAN FOR A MIRROR!

Florida transplant Georgia Lee Maxwell doesn't take to Paris at first, despite the fact that she's at least leaving a no-good man and a hated job as a society editor. Now she's a Paris correspondent, thank you very much—a dream come true for any journalist.

There's just a slight down side—she arrives in freezing rain, gets caught in a traffic jam caused by a bomb scare, and hates her apartment; but the real Bonjour is finding herself face down on a museum floor during a robbery. "Killed for a boring story!" she thinks. But as it happens, she isn't the one who dies. Three terrifying masked gunmen shoot the unfortunate security guard.

They could have stolen all the treasures of Monte Cristo's cave, so to speak, but it turns out they've made off with only a mirror. True, it once belonged to the French seer Nostradamus, but it may be the museum's least valuable item.

Does it have some prophetic ability? Does someone know something the gendarmes don't? Here's what Georgia Lee knows: If she finds out first, she's a journalistic hero. If she doesn't, she's dead.

Michaela Thompson's ability to bring alive a locale shines here, and when the locale is Paris, what's not to like? The writing is crisp, the protagonist witty, and the mystery is twisty. A great choice for armchair travelers! Also for fans of Cara Black, Michael Bond, and of course, the great Georges Simenon. Admirers of Hank Phillippi Ryan and the HBO show, THE NEWSROOM, will love the journalistic background.

Excerpt:
The first hint of anything extraordinary was a loud clattering on the staircase we had just descended. A moment later, three people burst violently into the room.

One of them, stumbling as if he’d been pushed, was the blue-uniformed guard I’d seen upstairs. The other two wore jeans, burgundy-colored ski masks, brown leather bomber jackets, and gloves. Both of them held stubby black guns. They looked around at us. One of them spat out some sort of order in French.

It was the most ungodly nightmare. Here were these killers, or terrorists, or who knew what, telling us to do something, and they were telling us in French. At that moment, I couldn’t have understood Bonjour. But the others— the guard, Mallet, Overton— were getting on the floor and lying face down, so I did the same. In a second, one of the intruders grabbed my wrists and taped them together, tight. I heard them shuffling around taping the others.

I lay with my nose pressed against the cold linoleum, wishing to God I’d never left Florida. Any indignity I’d had to put up with at the Sun was nothing compared to this. I was going to be killed, and all because of a story about art conservation that probably wouldn’t have worked out anyway. I thought about Mama and Daddy, and about Twinkie, who was just getting adjusted to Paris. I’m happy to say I didn’t give more than a passing thought to Ray Brown, the man I’d left in Bay City who wasn’t worth a damn.

All of this took just seconds. I heard a drawer opening and closing. The back of my head prickled. In everything I’d read about these situations, people got shot in the back of the head. The prickling became a numbness that crawled down my neck and along my spine.

Only a moment later, the shot came.

Los más vendidos Libros La Torre Tesla Canción de hielo y fuego: Juego de Tronos 1 (Gigamesh Omnium) Canción de hielo y fuego: Choque de reyesomnium: 2 (Gigamesh Omnium) Harry Potter y la Cámara Secreta (Letras de Bolsillo) El nombre del viento (Crónica del asesino de reyes) Juego de tronos (Canción de hielo y fuego nº 1) Harry Potter y el prisionero de Azkaban (Letras de Bolsillo) Atlantes Harry Potter y las Reliquias de la Muerte (Letras de Bolsillo) Cosmódromo parte I + parte II Un mundo feliz (Contemporanea (debolsillo)) Harry Potter y el Cáliz de Fuego (Letras de Bolsillo) Crónicas de la Torre I. El Valle de los Lobos Crónicas de la Torre II. La maldición del Maestro: 2 El Pozo de la Ascensión (Nacidos de la bruma [Mistborn] 2) Harry Potter y la Orden del Fénix (Letras de Bolsillo) El imperio final (Nacidos de la bruma [Mistborn] 1) Cementerio de animales (Bestseller) Luna APOGEO Harry Potter y el misterio del príncipe (Letras de Bolsillo) LOS VIKINGOS DE CHANNING: CAUTIVA, ERIKA, LYNNAE, NILSA y EYRA en un pack especial Game of Thrones 5-Copy Boxed Set: A Song of Ice and Fire 1-5 (George R. R. Martin Song of Ice and Fire) Tormenta de Espadas: Canción de Hielo y Fuego, Nº3 (Gigamesh Omnium) Harry Potter 6 y el misterio del príncipe Canción de hielo y fuego: Festín de cuervos omnium: 4 (Gigamesh Omnium) Juego De Tronos. Canción De Hielo Y Fuego - Volumen 1 (Gigamesh Éxitos) Ultimo deseo - Saga Geralt de Rivia 1 tela (Alamut Serie Fantástica) Madrid zombi Crónicas de la Torre III. La llamada de los muertos El Héroe de las Eras (Nacidos de la bruma [Mistborn] 3) El temor de un hombre sabio (Crónica del asesino de reyes 2) Cruzados de las Estrellas: Volumen 1 (Cruzados de las Estrellas - Compendio) La quema de Cíbola (The Expanse 4) Tormenta de espadas (Canción de hielo y fuego nº 3) Jerusalén. Caballo de Troya 1 (Gran Formato) 11,4 sueños luz Pack Tolkien (El Hobbit + La Comunidad + Las Dos Torres + El Retorno del Rey) (Biblioteca J. R. R. Tolkien) El camino de los reyes (El Archivo de las Tormentas 1): Saga la guerra de las tormentas I (Edición Revisada) El problema de los tres cuerpos (Trilogía de los Tres Cuerpos 1) Quarabel Metro 2033 (Biblioteca Dmitry Glukhovsky) La quema de Cíbola (The Expanse 4) American Gods (Rocabolsillo Bestseller) El imperio final (Nacidos de la bruma [Mistborn] 1): Nacidos de la Bruma I (Mistborn) Choque de reyes (Canción de hielo y fuego nº 2) Los crimenes de Grindelwald (Juvenil) Pequeña guía de minerales inexistentes Mecanoscrit Del Segon Origen (Educació 62) La clave secreta del universo (La clave secreta del universo 1): Una maravillosa aventura por el cosmos Metro 2035 (Biblioteca Dmitry Glukhovsky)